Senior Services

Supporting self-reliance and independent living for East Harlem’s senior community.

WHAT WE DO

Union Settlement has been providing essential services to East Harlem seniors for over a century, and our Meals on Wheels program has served homebound seniors for over 40 years. Our senior population of over 1,400 seniors relies heavily on Union Settlement to help meet their everyday needs. We offer healthy aging programs at our four senior centers, NORC and assistance to the homebound elderly. We connect seniors with transportation, counseling, nutritious meals and volunteer opportunities.

Contact

Maria Alejandro
Director of Senior Services
malejandro@unionsettlement.org
(212) 828-6096

Senior Centers

Our four Senior Centers offer daily group meals, a variety of exercise activities, benefits assistance, nutrition classes, health and wellness classes, computer classes, games, and arts and cultural activities to seniors in East Harlem. Visitors are welcome. Please call our centers to schedule a visit.

Senior Center Locations:
Corsi Senior Center, 307 East 116th Street, (212) 828-6756
Nelson Guttierez, Center Director, nguttierez@unionsettlement.org

Gaylord White Senior Center, 2029 Second Ave (104th St), (212) 828-6055
Ingrid Miranda, Center Coordinator, imiranda@unionsettlement.org

Jefferson Senior Center Senior Center, 2205 First Ave (113th St), (212) 828-6104
Sacha Tapia, Center Coordinator, stapia@unionsettlement.org

Washington Lexington Senior Center, 1775 Third Ave (98th St), (212) 828-6115
Helen Torres-Olmo, Center Coordinator, htorres@unionsettlement.org

NORC

The Naturally Occurring Retirement Community (NORC) at Franklin Plaza Apartments offers its resident senior citizens access to health services, social services and activities right in their own community.

Union Settlement NORC at Franklin Plaza, 2078 Second Ave (108th St)

Melanie Kane
NORC Director
mkane@unionsettlement.org
(646) 545-5208

Meals on Wheels

Providing services to seniors has long been a critical priority of Union Settlement, and Meals on Wheels has been a part of that mission for over 40 years. Our Meals on Wheels program currently serves approximately 540 homebound seniors each day.

To register for Meals on Wheels call (212) 360-7630.

Wesley Correa
Meals on Wheels Coordinator
(212) 828-6102
wcorrea@unionsettlement.org

Senior Services Volunteer Program

Our Seniors United to Serve volunteer program gives our members the opportunity to volunteer up to 20 hours a week across our four centers. Volunteers can assist in packing meals and sandwiches, planning trips and parties, calling bingo numbers, and assisting in arts and crafts activities. Our volunteers are also visiting and calling our homebound and ill clients, providing a vital lifeline to the outside world.

For information call Jeanette Iturbides at (212) 828-6103. Or, email jiturbides@unionsettlement.org.