Early Childhood Education

High quality and individualized learning for young children.

WHAT WE DO

Union Settlement provides high-quality, full-day educational programs to over 800 infants, toddlers and preschoolers, ages eight weeks to five years, making us the tenth largest provider of early childhood education in New York City. Our seven early childhood centers support the cognitive, social, creative and physical development. Our Family Child Care Network prepares community members to establish and run their own home-based child care businesses in an educationally stimulating home-based setting. All child care centers and home care providers are licensed by the Department of Health and provide hot, nutritious meals to all participants.

Early Childhood Centers

Mission and Contact Information

Our mission is to provide children with a well-rounded program that includes all aspects of learning. Children receive individualized instruction that includes cognitive, social, creative and physical development.

We serve 500 children and their families in seven centers. Teachers in our preschool program assist children ages 2 to 5 in a stimulating social and educational environment.

For Early Childhood Education center enrollment, please contact:
ece-enrollment@unionsettlement.org

Faheem Pollard
Director of Family Services
(212) 828-6052
fpollard@unionsettlement.org

Anasa West
Admin Coordinator
(212) 828-6028
awest@unionsettlement.org

For all other inquiries on our Early Childhood programs, please contact:

Chanda Huston
Director of Early Childhood Education
(212) 828-6083
chill@unionsettlement.org

Locations

Franklin Plaza, 2081 Second Ave (107th St), (212) 828-6106
Helen Low, Site Director, hlow@unionsettlement.org

Leggett Memorial, 237 East 104th St, (212) 828-6051
Melinda Barr, Site Director, mbarr@unionsettlement.org

Metro North, 304 East 102nd St, (212) 828-6415
Meghan Romano, mromano@unionsettlement.org

Pequeños Souls, 114-34 East 122nd St, Main Floor, (212) 828-6817
Sheila Daniel, Site Director, sdaniel@unionsettlement.org

Union Carver, 1565 Madison Ave (106th St), (212) 828-6078
Karen Ayala, Acting Site Director, kayala@unionsettlement.org

Union Johnson, 1828 Lexington Ave (113th St), (212) 828-6070
Jodi Schuldenfrei, jschuldenfrei@unionsettlement.org

Union Washington, 1893 Second Ave (97th St), (212) 828-6088

Open House/Meet and Greet Events

Parents and their children are welcome to visit the center, meet our teachers and explore the classrooms.

Family Child Care Network

Union Settlement’s Family Child Care Network prepares community members to establish and run their own home-based child care businesses. Our providers care for children ages 8 weeks to 3 years in an educationally stimulating home-based setting.

Noemi Rivera
Family Child Care Network Coordinator
(212) 828-6059
nrivera@unionsettlement.org